1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

spy bot problem

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by gooner#14, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. gooner#14

    gooner#14
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    ive had a few problems with a couple of viruses that found there way on to my pc done the usual things avg , got rid of them did a spybot and some of the virus names are the same as files spybot has found!!!! tried to fix selected problems ,as it tells me but ive 51 problems that it couldnt fix any help please would be gr8
    im on xp with sp 2
     
  2. gooner#14

    gooner#14
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    also on my user its really slow like if i double click on something it ages b4 anything happens. but on the guest user its fine?????????????
     
  3. Steve.J.Davies

    Steve.J.Davies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    is spybot finding them in the AVG Viris Vault ?
     
  4. gooner#14

    gooner#14
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    no the spybot search finds them but i cannot get rid of them!!
     
  5. DanH

    DanH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +56
    Give adaware a go aswell. Sometimes it can pick up/remove stuff that others cant, and vice versa.
     
  6. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    I've seen this quite a bit with AVG/Spybot.

    Whereabouts does spybot find the instances of the 'viruses'..?
    It should give you a bit of info as to where, as well as what it has found...

    I'm pretty sure it's actually AVG leaving leftovers of viruses in the registry, which spybot then detects, but can't 'repair' as the virus itself no longer exists...

    I wouldn't worry too much, though i'd check your AVG settings and make sure it's set to 'delete' rather than 'quarantine' anything it finds... ;)
     
  7. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    the slow logon will be a hugw user-profile almost certainly.

    c:\documents & settings\<username>

    once this gets over a few hundreed meg, anything upto 5 mins can be quite 'normal' on some PCs.

    - clear out your temp internet files etc, this should sort it.
    And move your My Documents folder to somewhere else, if this is where you keep stuff.
     
  8. gooner#14

    gooner#14
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok sorted fresh install
    now i cannot get onto my home page to check e-mail
    www.bt.yahoo.com
    its comes up with an error 999 unable to process request at this time
     
  9. gooner#14

    gooner#14
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    any ideas
     

Share This Page

Loading...