1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Splitting image to 2 projectors

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by lizaki, Jun 20, 2005.

1. lizaki

lizaki

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there, i am new to this
    could anyone please explain in simple terms how can i use 2 projectors to send the same image in order to double the projection size? i guess they call it Splitting image to 2 projectors and somehow you send half of image to one projector and the other half to the other projector and need to have them next to each other.

i have read the previous thread but it still doesnt make sense to me at all as how do i arrange this splitting of image and rearranging it where to send it

also does it have to be a CRT projector or any LCD,DLP would do?

cheers
    lizaki

2. Mad Mr H

Mad Mr H

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +280
  3. Chris Frost

Chris Frost

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +107
    lizaki, if your ultimate aim is to get a bigger brighter picture then there are two common ways to do it. The first is a double stack of projectors. This is the same image displayed on both projectors, one image overlayed on top of the other - the result is double the brightness on screen. Splitting the image requires nothing more complicated than a VGA distribution amp. One signal goes in, two identical signals come out. The projectors are aligned so that the images overlap as perfectly as possible. It's tricky, time consuming, reasonably pricey but definately doable.

The second and far less complicated option is simply to get a brighter projector. :rolleyes:

What MadMrH appears to to be doing is getting a brighter and higher resolution image by running two projectors side by side. This is an altogether more complicated and far more expensive arrangement.