1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spiderman R2

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by sonny, Nov 3, 2002.

  1. sonny

    sonny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, Leicestershire.
    Ratings:
    +16
    I ordered this from cdwow last Thursday and on Friday received an email from them that it had been despatched!
    I understood the R2 release date was November 25 (check Play).
    Of course I am not complaining, just curious.
    Has anyone else ordered Spiderman R2 from cdwow and had similar email?
     
  2. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +239
    I have not ordered it but saw it on there site last night, I thought it was a typo, let me know when you get it and if it is R2 as I will order it saves waiting another 22 days for play.
     
  3. monkeyWRENCH

    monkeyWRENCH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +36
    It's actually R4, not R2. They've made a mistake. If you look at the product description, it says 'Aussie release'.
     
  4. sonny

    sonny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, Leicestershire.
    Ratings:
    +16
    Actually, I phoned up CDWOW and the guy told me it WAS R2 and they DID have it in stock.
     
  5. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +239
    Just ordered, cant wait, CDWOW are normally really quick at delivering as well. :D
     
  6. PeterR

    PeterR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Monkeywrench is correct - just got mine from CD-WOW & it's R4. (Order confirmation email stated R2 & it is R2 on the website)

    Peter
     
  7. kevb

    kevb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,099
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    About
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's Encoded for R2 and R4 as I understand it. Saves on cost for the studios as both regions are PAL. If your unhappy ask for a refund I'm sure CD-WOW will give it to you.
     
  8. PeterR

    PeterR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh right, I didn't realise they did that, just looked at the box before leaving for work this morning & it had R4 written on it.
    Don't usually worry about regions apart from the kids films so that they can play it on their bedroom R2 player.

    I'll check it later

    Peter
     
  9. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    the back to the future box set from CD-WOW is also regions 2 and 4. makes even more of a mockery of the region system if you ask me.
     
  10. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +239
    Did it have one of the old green customs forms on the back, or had it come from the UK?
     
  11. sonny

    sonny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, Leicestershire.
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yes you are all correct!!!!
    Got the dvd today and sure enough the box said R4, so I tried it straight away on both my players and it worked fine, and looks fabulous too.
    I suspect the cover art will be different from the R2 version though.
     
  12. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +239
    ???????
     
  13. sonny

    sonny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, Leicestershire.
    Ratings:
    +16
    Shoka,
    It did indeed have one of those green forms on the back.
     
  14. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +239
    Thanks, I was just being impaitient it says awaiting despatch on there website, so I was wondering 1-2 days or 4-5. Thanks.

    Is your player R2 only? Does it play OK?
     
  15. ryonhill

    ryonhill
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got Spiderman r4/r2 last saturday from CD WOW and it does work on r2 only players as well.

    However im sure the picture on the box of mine is different to the upcoming uk r2 release.
     

Share This Page

Loading...