Specific Features in a Receiver

panzeroceania

Standard Member
Greetings, I'm a novice in the A/V world but hungry for knowledge.

Currently I am an owner of an Onkyo TX-SR806 receiver and love it. Soon I will be looking to buy a new receiver and plan on getting something slightly better than my current receiver.

Being new to the A/V world I have some questions on whether any high end receivers support some features I am about to list.

I'm not expecting any one receiver to have all these features, but I am looking for suggestions. I am going to ask about 5 features.

1. More than 4 selectable video sources
2. More accessible equalizer
3. Output to multiple tvs with two different sources simultaneously

LESS IMPORTANTLY

4. 9.2 or above channels
5. independent audio and video (be able to select the video from one source and the audio from another)

Let's get started.

1.)

Firstly, I have a lot of sources to plug in, and from what I can tell the TX-SR806 only allows me 4 selectable video sources at a time.

They are labeled DVD, VCR/DVR, CBL/SAT, and GAME/TV

There are also several additional audio only channels, but that doesn't help me much with additional video channels. What receivers out there would you recommend with more selectable video sources?

2.)

Secondly, I was wondering what receivers out there have quick access to adjusting your speaker balance, for example, raising bass, rear channels, front channels, independently.

I can always open up my menu and go through a level or two of menu and adjust each speaker output there, but this is very cumbersome and time consuming both to set and reset.

It'd be nice if there was a way to adjust these things from the remote without any menus, and also a "level reset" button.