Special Effects

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by SIP, Sep 1, 2004.

  1. SIP

    SIP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NORTH YORKS COAST
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi

    I have followed the excellent advice on this site, in order to convert Ram to DVD on my PC using TMPGEnc Author and have had good results.
    My question is, can anyone recommend any suitable software, that lets you add Wipes, Fades & Dissolves to your home produced DVD. I have seen Roxio products advertised that say that they can do this, but having never seen the programme in use, or know someone who has it, I am reluctant to buy.

    Any comments would be appreciated.



    SIP
     
  2. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Womble mpeg video wizard 2003

    Does transitions (wipes,fades 3d cube rotations!), audio tracks, basic titling and video effects. Combined with Womble mpeg VCR and TmpGenc you have all the tools to make half decent home presentations of movies

    Incredibly simple, easy to use. Handles 16:9 easily. Mutts nutts basically
     
  3. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    Got a link for us please.
     
  4. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    http://www.womble.com/

    Both products downloadable and have a 30 day evaluation licence.

    I use mpeg VCR for all editing. Very fast slider bar. Allows for accurate advert removal and homemovie chapter points.

    Womble video wizard I use for all home movies and even slide shows of photographs.

    both invaluable tools IMO
     
  5. kenfowler3966

    kenfowler3966
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    THe roxio creator suite is excellant, well worth the £50 or so it can be found discounted to, and it also does all the other types of recording you would wish to do.
     
  6. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ken, I agree it looks good. Only drawback is the spec for the PC. Owning a meagre AMD 1.1 I would not be able to use the Roxio suite.

    A couple of things in the Womble/TMPGenc favour are:
    1) The are small ( for those of us on 56K modems)
    2) they are quick and do not require the Additional Multimedia extensions to the instruction set of P4 chips (eg Adobe Premiere and by the looks of it Roxio which states a P4 for Mpeg encoding)
    3) Womble is an MPEG editor. Not sure if the roxio is. So reencdoing is a lot faster without having to convert to an intermediary format. this makes it ideal when your starting point is Mpeg2 on a DVD RAM rather than a raw Video format
     
  7. kenfowler3966

    kenfowler3966
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    The spec on the roxio box says 1.2 P3 minimum or equivalent for dvd encoding. I would think your 1.1amd is fine.
    Certainly you don't need a pentium to run the program, works fine with my amd, though admittedly a 2400xp running as a 2600xp.

    You may be able to upgrade, I was using a 1.1gig amd in my computer before upgrading without needing to change the motherboard, although that cpu did come from an older computer as a temporary measure when I built this one.
     
  8. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Motherboard is crap, max it will take is 1.3 AMD. If I upgrade it will be the whole lot as its not cost effective to do it in bits!

    Anyway, point is if you have a crap PC Womble MVW, Mpeg2VCR and TmpGenc work fine!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice