1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Special Edition DVD's

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by krishnath, Jan 11, 2005.

1. krishnath

krishnath

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey there,

I am a freelancer working for one of the major production houses and I am doing some research on Special Editin DVD's. Every bit of information is vital and will help us tailor the new generation of S.E DVD's to what the consumer wants more of and what hey want to cut out entirely.

What would make ou buy an S.E title over the normal cheaper version?

What are your views on Easter Eggs???

Are packing and/or a free gift important??

Would you ever re-buy a tilte for S.E version?

Thanks for all your help with this

2. AML

AML

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +229
    I have in many occasions bought the same film more than once to get either a special edition, ultimate edition or superbit.

In some cases I have as many as 3 copies of the same movie.

Packaging is vital in my opinion. This is what attracts people to the same movie more than once.
    Not to mention things like DTS sound as well as Dolby Digital.
    I want to say that these days people want Full Bit Rate DTS not the half rate mince.

Easter Eggs, cant be bothered with them personaly.
    I get enough stress playing games on my PC, XBox, PS2 and so forth to have to hunt down special features on a DVD.

I just want to put it in and play all the features.

Finally I want to point out that with Blu Ray and HD DVD on the horizon I feel that many of use here will end up buying many of out favorite movies (old and new) in one of these new formats as they offer superior picture and sound quality. This may make special edition DVDs redundant in the future.

3. Marc

Marc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,081