Speakers & Room treatment for Rotel RB-1582MKII

PolarPacific

Novice Member
Hi All. Newbie here. I would like your advice/opinion on getting a good sound experience.

I have:
  • B&W DM603 S2 speakers (from 1999) bi-wired to
  • Rotel RB-1582 MKII 200W Power amp
  • RC-1572 MKII Pre-amp.

Initially I used Marantz PM8006 that subjectively lacked power to drive 603s and I had to use EQ.

With Rotel the sound has improved. High-res files on Rotel are much more detailed with more natural voice presentation. I don’t use EQ anymore. However still the sound lacks depth and stage. With CDs everything is even worse: flat and lifeless 😓

Music sources:
  • Rotel RCD-991
  • MacBook Pro connected to Pre-amp via PC-USB 2.0 with a collection of DSD files (via Audirvana).
Cables:
  • QED Revelation Signature (HF),
  • QED Ruby Anniversary Evolution (LF),
  • XLR cables for connecting Pre-amp to Power
  • Tosllink connecting CD Player to pre-amp.
Room is 25 sq.meters (6x4 m), ceiling height 2,6 m with real height of 2,4 (plasterboard is used).
Tile floor with carpet and one wall (6 m) is a panoramic glass.

Maybe it’s time to upgrade the speakers?
Or maybe the room is the key factor for my underwhelming music experience?

Would be thankful for suggestions 👍

Ugg10

Distinguished Member
A diagram or photo of your room would help diagnose potential issues. Lack of soundstage is often due to positioning of speaker wrt listening position, walls and toe in, a couple of hour experimenting may bring about free benefits. Also, it may be the music you listen to that may be mastered for radio rather than Hifi listening, what music do you like?

PolarPacific

Novice Member
Thank you for your feedback, Ugg10!
Please find attached the diagram of the room.

As for the music, that's my experience so far:

1) Sounded best (bust still lacked weight in the lower frequencies and expansion):