1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speakers, Positioning & Connections

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by SimonD, Jan 1, 2003.

1. SimonD

SimonD
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to all this Home Cinema stuff but I'm slowly getting to grips with the "ideal requirements" I don't intend to be using the system for music, I have a Denon DM30 for that, which is ideal for our requirements (I tend to have music as background sound, I never actually sit down and just listen to it! The DM30 will be in the same room as the TV)

I have a "blank canvas" to work with in the room and need to think about preparing the walls for cabling and have a few questions...

Using the theory "fronts should be at ear level and separated by the same distance as the viewer is from the screen" (I'm sure I read that somewhere)
    This puts the front 2 speakers each in the middle of a doorway!

Q1) Would I be better off increasing the separation, decreasing the separation or raising the speakers into the wall space above the doorway??

Q2) I understand the ideal position is for the rears to be along side the listener, is it a real problem for them to be mounted on the wall behind? and is the separation the same as the fronts?

Q3) SWMBO likes the look of the Wharfdale LoudPanel speakers (The ones that look like picture frames) are these a complete no-no for a 5.1 setup or would they be ok for the fronts and/or the rears?

Q4) Does anybody produce speaker connection boxes which can be flush mounted like mains sockets, I have not seen any? Will they cause any problems?

Any comments welcome
    Thanks
    Simon

2. xio

xio

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    QED produce flush mounted speaker connection boxes. I spent most of yesterday carving through brickwork to fit mine!

3. SimonD

SimonD
    Standard Member