speakers / hollow sound in van

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by carpetpaul, Apr 26, 2005.

1. carpetpaul

carpetpaul
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I've got an Astravan which although was fine with just my front speakers in, ended up sounding very hollow and strange when I put some 6x9's behind the rear seats.
    I did have about 1ft square sound deadening pads fixed to each of the window blanks on the side and also along the roof, but it still sounds bad.
    I'm on with the process of removing all of the sound deadening pads. I've remade the flimsy plastic side trim out of nice thick mdf and will re-fit the speakers into those.
    Being a carpet fitter by trade I'm going to carpet the window blanks, most of the roof, the wheel arches and anything else I can get away with if it looks good
    I'm assuming that since there's such an expance of blank tinny metal that it's best giving up with the sound deadening pads since they're real expensive in any quantity and they weigh an absolute tonne in the sort of amount I'd need to do the lot.
    Carpet is really cheap, and I would immagine would make a huge difference

Can you tell me, do you think it's worth putting some carpet on the inner part of the outside skin of bodywork, ie right behind the speaker, inside the enclosure, and also carpet the back side of the panel that contains the speaker itself, thus cutting the amount of echo behind the speaker itself. I know that this is usually done inside sub boxes, and I assume can't do any harm

If there are any points you could raise, if you have any experience of similar problems, please post (or infact still post if you reckon my thinking is right)

Thanks for reading this !

Paul

2. Not The Messiah

Not The Messiah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0