Speakers for semi detached house

gpt

Hi,

Is it worth buying expensive speakers for a semi detached house?

Obviously your always going to be limited a bit with the neighbours so i cant have the speakers very loud anyway. I was previously looking at getting something like the dali zensor 5's or even stretching to rx6's and building up my 5 or 7.1 speaker set slowly.

but part of me is now thinking i will at least be in this house 5 years and am i going to get any extra benefit from a £2000 set compared to a £500 set when i cant even play the volume that loud.

Any opinions would be appreciated.

jason1wood

I'm no expert but the more expensive speakers don't just mean higher volume. You'd be able to play at normal volumes but get clearer sound.

I'd suggest get the best speakers for your budget.

AV Online

AVForums Sponsor
Just like Jason says, you're not necessarily paying for higher power handling but you would expect better clarity of sound at any volume level. The RX6's are great speakers, highly recommend giving them a listen if you can.

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member
Hi,

Is it worth buying expensive speakers for a semi detached house?

Obviously your always going to be limited a bit with the neighbours so i cant have the speakers very loud anyway. ...

Any opinions would be appreciated.

I'm inclined to agree with what others have already said. The size of your room makes more difference than whether you have neighbors or not, with regard to choosing your speakers.

When people spend more money on a speaker, they instinctively assume they get more ... of something from the speakers. But is is not more volume, but more clarity that you get.

I auditioned some B&W 684/683 along size some B&E CM8 speakers, and the difference was night and day. Most would consider the 600 series a VERY good speakers, and many are very happy to have them, but when compared to the CM, they sounded blurred and fuzzy.