1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speakers for music

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by stavross, Aug 17, 2004.

1. stavross

stavross
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a complete novice to the world of surround sound I desperately need some help!

I am about to take delivery of a Yamaha DSPAX750 and set of Tannoy FX5.1 speakers, which I am hooking up to a Pioneer DV656 DVD. I really want to use the Pioneer to play music as well as DVD and had considered a Pair of MA Bronze B2 speakers to use as fronts, with the spare tannoys as an extra pair of rears. Will they work together?

I have not even heard the combination in action yet as they are being bought for me as a gift, (not complaining,) but I am a little concerned on the effectiveness of the Tannoys to play music at a reasonable level, having said that our living room is fairly small, so they will not need to stretched from that point of view.

Any advice gratefuly received.

2. pentode

pentode

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry, this is not an answer to your question, but when you say that you want to use your Pioneer to listen to music, do you mean cd or DVD-A/SACD ?

3. Knightshade

Knightshade

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +43
    Wouldn't have thought MA and Tannoy would sound good together (IMHO), Two totally different sounding speakers. Doesn't sound like you have to much choice though. They are both of similar size so who knows? Be interested to hear your results. Don't be too harsh to start with they will take 100 hours or so to break in.
    If your listening to CD's through a DVD player (Not DVD-A or SACD) you may be a little disapointed with the results.
    Good Luck

4. stavross

stavross
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0