Speakers for 5.1.4 setup?

Discussion in 'What Speakers Should I Buy?' started by Madia, Aug 1, 2018.

1. Madia

Madia
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm looking to build my first home theater setup and am looking for suggestions on speakers. I plan on eventually upgrading to 5.1.4 in the following room:

htheater.jpg
    The ceiling height is 6'9" and I will be using upfiring for atmos. My budget is ~$2500 for everything. I don't need everything at once; I can wait for sales and start with a 3.1 setup. This is my first time buying an A/V receiver and speakers. I'll be using it for movies/tv and some gaming; how they work for music isn't of importance. One problem I'm having with my current setup (soundbar) is that dialogue sometimes get muddied and I am looking to remedy that. From my research here's what I'm leaning toward:

A/V Receiver: Onkyo TX-NR787 ($650): The only 9 channel receiver under $1000. If this won't work then I rather give up the rear atmos and set up 5.1.2 rather than pay over $1000 for a receiver.
    Front/Center: Elac Uni-Fi UB5 ($500) and UB6 ($350): I know these speakers are the most important so I wanted my greatest investment here. I've also considered the Elac debut speakers but the UB5 are sometimes on sale for $350 making them only $100 more than the debut.
    Front Atmos speakers: ELAC Debut 2.0 A4.2 ($230): These match the UB5 and also the debut if I had to downgrade.
    Rear Speakers: Pioneer SP-BS22A-LR ($200): These have atmos included and I figured this would be the place to save money. The other option is the Pioneer Elite SP-EBS73 when they go on sale for $350.