Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Speakers + Amp Under £350 - Help?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by fastlegs, Nov 16, 2004.

1. fastlegs

fastlegs

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to the world of Home Cinema so could do with some advice. I'm looking to buy an AV amp and Speakers to go with my existing DVD player and TV. I have a budget of £300-£350 in total so I'm looking at the cheaper end of the market.

Richer Sounds Edinburgh recommended the Yamaha RXV-350 Amp (£149) and the Yamaha NSP100 Speakers (£99). The amp seems ok but not really sure of the speakers. I want to use them for music as well as DVDs due to space / wife issues. The Yamahas seem a bit lightweight. Didn't try them out at the time as the shop was about to close...

Anyone any suggestions what I should check out?

Elac Cinema 1 ESP Mk 2
    Tannoy FX 5.1
    Mission M3s / M2s

2. ab1385

ab1385

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +74
    Either have that Yamaha amp, or get a Denon 1802 either from the for sale/trade forum or off eBay, for about £100.

Then, if you wanted floorstanding speakers, then go here:

Wharfedale Diamond Plus from Superfi

Or you could go here and get them separately, and go for two 8.1s and the centre. You wouldn't need to add a sub straight away, but its probably worth it in the long run. You'll probably get something decent off eBay for about £100-£150 later on...

Wharfedale selection from Superfi

If you wanted much smaller micro speakers, then I'm afraid I know very very little about them in that price range, so I'll leave it to someone else...

3. barrybarryr

barrybarryr

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19