Answered Speaker wiring question

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by cb95amc, Jun 18, 2019.

1. cb95amc

cb95amc
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have recently moved house and the previous owner has wired up 4 places in the lounge you can attach speakers, so I am looking to take advantage and put a 5.1 system in.

However as a complete audio novice I am a little confused by how these are wired up. All 4 sockets have red and white female RCA connections. Two of them have 4 conductor cable attached (these will be front left and right), and the other two have 2 conductor cable, with one cable going to the red jack and one to the white.

How should I connect the speaker cable going to the individual speakers to the male RCA jacks. Do I connect both wires to a single jack, and then just plug them into one of the plugs on each socket? Will it matter which plug they go in? On the 4 conductor sockets should I only use the high frequency connection etc?

Any guidance greatly appreciated!

Many thanks

Andy

2. Best Answer:
    Post #7 by gibbsy, Jun 18, 2019 (1 points)
  3. gibbsy

gibbsy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8,407
    Without seeing a photograph (hint), it sounds very much that the previous owner had the front sockets wired for bi-amping with four banana plugs. At the input stage, ie, where the receiver or amp would be placed what colour are the cables themselves. Some people will wire red and white and then green and blue. The red and white would go to the HF and the green and blue to the LF, or vice versa.

Like this:
    NX-WP-360STR.jpg

I don't suppose you are going to bi-amp so let's deal with just one pair of connections from the fronts. It doesn't matter what pair of connections you use as long as they correspond at each end, speaker end, amp end. Let's say you use the top pair, red to red +, white to white -.