Speaker thickness or type for chasing into walls.

disconotdisco

Novice Member
Reaction score
I'm a newbie poster and am starting a refurb of my lounge / diner in my flat here in North London. The room is only 4x4.5 metres approx and with a small proportion of that for my dining space.

Anyway, I'm putting my first home cinema project together. I'm in the process of chasing cat6 into the walls and passing under the wooden floors anyway, to upgrade my network. The TV is being wall mounted and I'm having floating units underneath it so I thought I may as well try to chase or hide speaker cables as much as possible.

For now I plan to source a 2nd hand 5.1 or 5.x.y receiver as well as speakers, replacing them as I get to know more and find what I want. Initially for speakers I was considering finding some Cambridge Audio Minx (min21 or 22), upgrading to bigger if needed eventually.

Given I don't know what the end spec will be, what would be a suitable cable type or thickness to use that will give reasonable future proofing?

More info if needed: I'm looking to pass 3 runs of about 6m each from the AV receiver by the TV, under the floor, to feed the rear surround speakers and subwoofer (also considering running to an alternative sub location in case I need in future). I'll pass these through 20mm plastic conduit running along a joist. For the front L and R I'm likely to chase about 2 runs of 2-3 metres from receiver to speaker locations. For the centre speaker I'll likely hide the cable inside the floating unit so no chasing. Might use some euromodule banana or RCA sockets on walls in places.

If I decide I want Atmos I can easily run 2 extra cables to ceiling, hidden down side of some floating units.

Anyway, probably lots of info. Feedback welcome.