1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speaker sets with centre line out?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by sharp_aquos_man, Jul 13, 2004.

1. sharp_aquos_man

sharp_aquos_man

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello :),

I am trying to connect:

DVD Player with DTS Coaxial / Optical OUT
    |
    5.1 Decoder & Speakers (Not yet purchased)
    |
    Sharp Aquos AV Box (can accept Centre Channel Input via Phono)

I'm a newbie when it comes to speakers. I'm comfortable that most 5.1 packages can accept Coaxial and Optical IN. I guess they will all have speaker terminal outputs, but will they have a phono output for the centre channel? Is it a standard feature of 5.1 systems?

The Sharp Aquos AV Box will use the centre channel input to ensure that the large speaker beneath the LCD Panel will only output centre channel.

Any advice much appreciated!

Simon

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I'm afraid that I don't understand what it is that you are trying to do. I have had a look at the Sharp Aqua website and it is a masterful triumph of pretty web design over information and says nothing about the AV Centre at all

3. sharp_aquos_man

sharp_aquos_man

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ian,
    I've attached a scan showing what I want to do. I haven't bought the speaker and decoder yet.
    --Simon

Attached Files:

4. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I now understand that you wish to use the Aquos internal speaker as a centre speaker but I am still not sure what the "AV Centre" is. If it is like the picture that you have scanned it will be an amplifier whereas I thought that it may have just been similar to a scart junction box.