Speaker (Set) recommendation, pls

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by trinity, Jan 12, 2002.

1. trinity

trinity

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi everyone, newbie here

i am moving soon and checking now for new speakers for great dvd experiences :) but to be honest: i have no clue what kind of specifications good speakers should have. so a little help from you experts is really welcome.

i think i am going to buy a receiver from Denon and heared the AVR 3802 would be a good choice. but now to the speakers. any tips? or links where i can inform me?

thank you!

2. Electric Mayhem

Electric Mayhem
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,233
  3. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Specifications are not really relevant in loudspeakers as what can look good on paper can sound terrible and vice versa. Whilst you can get away with buying an amp or DVD player on recommendation or magazine review there is much more variation between speakers and "good" is much more subjective.

The way to go is to draw up a short list and listen to them all. We can help with the shortlist but we would need to know budget and any specific style as many significant others refuse to allow any speakers larger than a matchbox in the house.

4. trinity

trinity

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would prefer small boxes, i don't like the big ones anymore. and i am living in a flat so a 1000w box would be senseless. poor neighbours ;)

design is a little bit hard to describe. i like simple designs, nothing special.

and budget ... hmm, good question. i have good contacts to get stuff cheaper then in shops. i don't need 'the best' speakers. so around 1000USD should be enough for 'good' speaders, right?

5. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906