Speaker recommendation: cheap and cheerful!

Sameer

Standard Member
Hi people. I'm pretty new to this whole game, would like some advice.

I just repaired my Onkyo TR606 via some google guides, and I'm pretty chuffed with myself for getting it to work. It's currently connected to my computer via an optical cable, and I have attached the two satellite speakers that come with the Aego M 2.1 system to the back of the receiver. I primarily use it for listening to music, although I do a fair bit of gaming and movie watching too. Music tends to come out of iTunes, and ranges from Apple lossless (~1500kbps) to the lowly 128kbps. I'm pretty amazed that these two speakers on their own already sound better than they did when paired with the subwoofer, but didn't have the receiver to assist them.

If I knew how to attach my Aego M subwoofer to the amp then I would do that but I don't think it's possible since it's designed to be connected to a source via a 3.5mm, and there is no place for me to attach it to the receiver with a subwoofer cable.

It's not a very high end system, and I'm a newcomer to this whole game, but I imagine if I was to get some speakers with dedicated low-range reproduction then I'd reap some more increases in sound quality.

My room itself is an awkward shape which belies description. Pretty thick carpet on the floor. I don't know how relevant this is, but the more info the better, right?

So I'm looking for some speakers to fill this hitherto unnoticed void in my life.

Nothing too expensive, my budget is flexible within what I deem reasonable. I'm happy to scour ebay for used models, as long as I'm getting something that offer a lot of value for the price, and will be an improvement on what I'm currently using. I don't want to spend more than £400. (At this point, I hear the audio afficinados scoffing.)