1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speaker Question For Newbie Please

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by bigjonnyauk, Jul 28, 2003.

1. bigjonnyauk

bigjonnyauk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    HI ALL

I HAVE ONLY BEEN INTO HOME CINEMA FOR ABOUT A YEAR NOW AND LOOKING AT ALL THE LOVELY KIT YOU GUYS HAVE MAKES ME FEEL A BIT EMBARRESSED ABOUT MY SET UP lol

but i am now looking at other options of upgrading but cant do it all in one go so here goes

i have a phillips mx980 home cinema (yes i know its not the dbs like you guys have but cost me 300 and at the minute im very happy with BUT

i wonder just how great it could be with seperates

if i started buying just speakers and sub could i connect to the amp/receiver until i can afford another amp or vice versa

also just how much difference will i see as i said im a newbie but am very happy with my system at minute but like everyone want something better

also i still cant fully understand this setting my speakers to large or small what difference does tis make i currently have all set to small AS THEY ARE but when the bass kicks in it sounds how can i put it muffled but when i set to large it seems a bit clearer why is this

SO WHEN YOU STOPPED LAUGHING any advice would be nice

ps i was looking at that denon 1803 from empire and the eltax speakers from richer 250 quid i think they were

i am on a tightish budget so cant go into hundreds and hundreds is it best to stick with what i have due to limited funds ?

thanks

2. dennis

dennis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +54
    dosent matter what you have,you have to start somewhere,as for speaker settings check some older threads on this board,i did and found plenty of good advice from the good old boys on this board,

come on lads give him a hand:clap: :D

3. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned: