Speaker Profile

NeilThurston

Established Member
Reaction score
Dear friends

I am looking at getting some new speakers and as a newbie I am snow blind with the options available and the terminology used to describe the attributes and characteristics of options available.

Not that I listen to that often, but, my typical listening spectrum would include Fleetwood Mac, Adele and Oasis. Perhaps a mixed genre....

Given my musical persuasions, are there any descriptions, intrinsic speaker characteristics / specifications that I should be looking for so I can narrow down my search somehow ?

I hope to soon have a Rega Elex if that helps at all?

Perhaps a difficult question to answer, but thoughts as always would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Neil

If looking at a Rega Elex, then going to assume budget for speakers in the 1k-2k range, but need to confirm a budget range.

What size listening space do you have? Do you have any ideas of likely layout and other related constraints?

Will speakers end up against wall/corners, on bookshelves or do you have some room to find a good placement? Ie what speaker size are you after - bookshelf/standmount/floorstander?
I am going guess standmount as perhaps a better choice with such an amp.

I reckon something with good tonal balance, so Spendor, Spendor A2 should do you well. (I didn't mention them before as I wasn't aware of the price). If my room wasn't such a damn nuisance I would have been considering a floorstanding Spendor or another Davis to what I eventually got).

If looking at a Rega Elex, then going to assume budget for speakers in the 1k-2k range, but need to confirm a budget range.

What size listening space do you have? Do you have any ideas of likely layout and other related constraints?

Will speakers end up against wall/corners, on bookshelves or do you have some room to find a good placement? Ie what speaker size are you after - bookshelf/standmount/floorstander?