1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speaker Jumpers

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by WBC, Feb 14, 2004.

  1. WBC

    WBC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys,

    To test out the jumper theory, can I just use my excess speaker cable and run it out of one binding post into the other.

    What I mean by this is, avoiding bananas (for the mo) and just coming out of the bind that the cable is screwed into???


    Doubt if this makes sense but I know what I mean :laugh: :laugh:

    Thanks
    Stace :D

    Please don't tkae the Pi55 out of the drawing, I couldn't be ar5ed to provide a 3d model!!!! :blush:
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Yep mate no hassles! let us know what you think of any improvement.
     
  3. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,518
    yep......its the same as bi-wiring!! :D
     
  4. marcoeser

    marcoeser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I did exactyly that with my kef Q15. I removed the metal plate joining the binding post and used a small length of QED cable I was already using. I did notice a better difference.
    Its an easy cheap upgrade.
     
  5. WBC

    WBC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The cable I'm using is too thick to double up on the binding post, so I will go out and get some banana plugs (didn't want to do that immediately as I'm considering changing my speaker cable, currently ixos 6003)

    Out of interest if you wire singularly with the supplied bridges, should your speaker cable go into HF or LF????

    Thanks
    Stace :D
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    it shouldn't matter but someone will probably have a reason for using one or the other, usually use lower post for convienience.
     
  7. bobbypunk

    bobbypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The people at monitor audio reckon you should put one to high and the other to low, couldn't give a description that made sense, way above my head!!!
     
  8. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    putting them in the high makes piddle all difference except irritating the hell out of you as you try and connect down to the lower ones.

    Replacing those metal links is a good idea, certainly in my case, i wasnt happy with the connections they made. As far as sound goes, i am not that sure, it didnt sound any worse, but improvement (if any) was pretty small. But a few tweaks of this nature probably sum to be noticeable

    ad
     
  9. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    My speaker cable has 16 strands, I use only 3 for each jumper, actually a friend did test all combinations, and with this cable found that 3 strands sounds better, I just followed his advice, didn´t bother testing an more... :rolleyes:

    Connect the cables to HF, then the jumper HF to LF... :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...