Speaker dilemma - newbie help!?!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by daffykyle, Sep 2, 2007.

1. daffykyle

daffykyle

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +20
    Just got a new Sony DG910 today for my b'day and as a complete newbie to this malarkey was wondering what speaker setup i should get.

Thanks to slim pickings in the rich list I can only afford to build this up piece by piece, so for this month was planning on a stereo speaker setup with expansion to 5.1 coming in the next few months.

What should i go for? Should i buy floorstanders (looking at Mission M33i) or shall i go for bookshelf and look to extend to 4.0 (!?) with floorstanders next month?

Confused!

PS. what difference do banana plugs make to a speaker setup?

Many thanks in advanced!:confused:

2. anth1e

anth1e
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    im glad i bought my acoustic energy aegis evo 3 floorstandingspeakers half price from acoustic energy, cant go wrong with them, make sure whatever you get is the same all round apart from the sub, i bet the evos arent half price for long though, but i cant imagine them going back to full price if you shop around.
    another dcent speaker to go for i you want bookshelves, which might be adequate enough ifyou get a decent sub.
    if your willing to take the time to save up for your setup and not have it all at once its better to not skimp or youll feel like upgrading by the time you get to the end, it would be cheaper to get four bookshelves, youll notice the difference though, unless you spend the money you saved on getting a better subwoofer, and unless you all mount the money you save might have to be spent on stands. but i still reckon the evos are your best bet as they are smae price but really, twice as good as the missions i reckon

3. Arcam_boy

Arcam_boy
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,374