Speaker Choice for Newbie

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by dazgough, Jan 4, 2012.

1. dazgough

dazgough
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

I am planning some demos of kit so this thread is not designed to replace that. However, I am a newbie when it comes to home cinema and hifi gnerally so was after some advice.

I have a budget of between £800 - £1000 for a home cinema setup that I would describe as 50/50 with regards to listening to music and watching films. I listen to most types of music from classical to R&B. Pretty much everything with the exception of hard rock.

I have an ipad also that I would like to use to stream music using airplay and with a well rated app as well, the pioneer VSX-921 looks a front runner (admittedly I am awaitng a demo).

My room space is of average size 19ft by 13ft but the sofa can only be up against a wall. The front speakers would also need to be up against a wall.

My question is given that the system will be used as much for music as it would be cinema experience, is it possible to build a system in parts? I.e I would really like a set of floor standers (probably due to thier looks but also music value) but then may build it up with the addition of the rears etc later? I have also heard of tonal balance and speaker matching etc so not sure how this would work? The other option I suppose would be a speaker package with satellites (like the kef eggs etc) but not sure how good these would be with music?

A big question I know so apologies, but like I say, this post is not designed to replace demos but more to help with theory.

Cheers

Daz

2. technique786

technique786

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8