Speaker choice and placement advice for new kitchen.

jadgf

Novice Member
Speaker choice and placement advice for new kitchen.

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here so please forgive me if this is the wrong place.

I'm having a kitchen extension done in my house which is nearly finished, which will leave me with a 6x5m room. I'd really like to get some quality speakers for this space, however I am slightly restricted by the size and placement of them. Here is a picture of the room right now:
kitchen setup.jpg

I have been looking at placing 2 compact wall-mountable speakers such as the Dali Oberon/Opticon 1s or the Q Acoustic 3020is on either end of the wall (as shown by the red drawings), however I'm a bit concerned that they won't be enough to really fill the room. Would a subwoofer be able to make up for this? Another option would be to place 2 larger bookshelf speakers on a shelf/table against the right side of the wall (the blue drawings).

I will be powering these speakers A/B with some old Castle Acoustics Lincoln speakers in the adjacent room using a Cambridge Audio AXR100.

Any advice or recommendations on speakers and placement choices would be greatly appreciated. My budget is around £700 for the speakers.

Last edited:

ShanePJ

AVForums Sponsor
If you're looking for some compact speakers which have a big of grunt when being driven then you could look at the Monitor Audio Apex A10 speakers. They will take most of your budget, but I feel in that room you may still need a woofer to tickle the bottom end to add feel as it will be a cold room (being a kitchen), with lots of hard surfaces which could play havoc with any speakers you place in there.