1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

speaker cable

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by strontiumdog, Apr 2, 2005.

1. strontiumdog

strontiumdog

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive bought some mordaunt genies and im not sure which type of speaker cable i should use,is it best to buy a 15m reel and cut it or to buy seperate cables for each respective speaker.do i need to buy cable for a certain ampage.also do i need to buy a new cable for my subwoofer or can i use my profligold coaxial cable.im completely new to this so any help would be greatly appreiciated.

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Ideally the front three cables should all be the same length as should the rear pair but whilst that makes fine theory I very much doubt if any differences in length would be audible so you should buy the cables in whatever form is the most most effective.

Your existing subwoofer cable will do just fine.

3. Joe Fernand

Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,464
    strontiumdog

If your using a Pair of speakers for Stereo try and ensure the cables are exactly the same length.

If your using 5 x Genies + a sub then as Ian says the theory goes you try and keep all the speaker cables to the Genies the same length; which is usually impractical and over costly. (I'd go with Ian's advice 3 x equal length to the front + 2 x equal length to the surrounds).

As long as your AV Receiver has the ability to set individual delays to different channels you have the ability to dial out any timing issues your unmatched cables could introduce (very unlikely).