1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speaker Cable run going OUTSIDE!

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Jonmurgie, Aug 30, 2005.

  1. Jonmurgie

    Jonmurgie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham, Glos
    Ratings:
    +44
    I have resided myself that I will have to run some speaker cable OUTSIDE my house for the rear speakers in my setup.

    Now I don't want to spend £££ on cable but then again it will be a Yamaha 757 powering the Kef Q15 rears so didn't want anything that's going to be a waste of effort...

    Can anyone offer me some suggestins on cost effect wiring for these speakers? I'm NOT bi-wiring them BTW :)

    Cheers
    Jon
     
  2. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    Can you chase the cable into the wall?

    I believe the only issue will be the very long term stability of the cable outer...

    If its out of the sun, I would have thought any cable will be ok.

    Gareth
     
  3. Jonmurgie

    Jonmurgie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham, Glos
    Ratings:
    +44
    For the run to go inside I have a HUGE patio door and a fireplace to contend with... and it's Laminate flooring so no help there!!

    I was thinking of running the cable in a conduit casing to give it some external protection...
     
  4. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    I am sure it will be absolutly fine like that.

    Gareth.
     
  5. demostenes

    demostenes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi jonmurgy,

    The best way to run cables (any cable) outside is inside a Semi Rigid Polyethylene Pipe or PVC like the ones used in electrical installations. U can use a rigid pipe but its not as resistant as the other 2.

    U can buy them at any electrical wharehouse and costs around 1£ /m

    Here's a link to a PT site: http://www.jsl-online.net/produtos/listsub.asp?Id=5
    (sorry dont know any English 1 :thumbsup: ):
     
  6. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +58
    If you dont run the cable in conduit the squirrels mice and other creatures will soon eat through the casing :eek:
     
  7. Troon

    Troon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Where it comes into the house put a little droop in the cable, so that condensation and rainwater drip off the bottom of the droop rather than seeping indoors.
     
  8. demostenes

    demostenes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    davee as pointed out a very important thing :smashin: We've had several problems with electrical cable that tends to attract hungry rats :thumbsdow.

    To add a thing to troon's post, u should isolate both ends of the tube as well (silicone will do fine).

    :thumbsup:
     
  9. Jonmurgie

    Jonmurgie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham, Glos
    Ratings:
    +44
    no probs... thanks for the great advice...

    Now I'm having right dilemas choosing what cable to use... almost bought some QED Micro but then keep stumbling across threads about electircal cable and Cat5 cable!!
     
  10. Fatman

    Fatman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could you use metal piping (e.g. copper?) as your external conduit?
     

Share This Page

Loading...