Speaker Cable Positive And Negative

Dylan555

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, I’ve just bought some speaker cable, but there’s no way to tell which one’s positive and negative. I’m going to use name labels, put them on one end of a cable, and then one on the other end of the same cable. And then (it’s a black cable) connect black to black on the receiver and speakers, and white (name label) to red. Can I just leave the name label on? Or do I need to remove it?

Also, are both cables identical? Is one positive and the other negative, or are they both the same?

For example if I had a black and red cable, and connected black to red on the speakers and receiver, and red to black on the receiver and speakers, would this be ok, because they’re connected to the same colour on the speakers, or would this not be ok, because both cables are actually different?

Sorry for such a long question, I’m still quite new to all of this. Thanks.

Until you keep same color connected in the ends, then it doesn't matter, what color coding has your cable - important is, that receivers "black" connector signal ends in speaker "black" plug and red in red.
Or if you have some mix like receiver has black and red coding and speaker has white and red, then black goes to white.
You can't mix - from receivers black to the speaker red...

Cable - do you have a link to what you have purchased and or some pics?

Cable - the colour of the outer jacket of the cable is simply for identification, a Red cable 'sounds' the same as a 'Black' cable.

Amp and Speakers - what do you have?

Joe

Speaker cable is the same for positive and negative. Make sure that you connect the same part of the cable to the same binding posts at speaker and amp end. As pointed out black to black and red to red.