1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speaker cable dividers?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by mevetts, Aug 23, 2004.

  1. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    Mods feel free to move, but was not too sure where to post this question?

    I have a hi-fi which I currently use to feed sound from my DVD player through. However, is it possible to have the speakers connected to both my hi-fi and receiver via some form of speaker cable divider?

    Obviously, I would not use both my hi-fi and receiver at the same time!

    Can this be done?

    Any advice or suggestions would be greatfully received.

    Thanks,

    Mark.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I think you can get a switch unit comparator? used by the "trade" for demoing 2 different amps on a single pair of speakers, no idea on cost or use high current mains switches (tripoles?)
     
  3. bobbypunk

    bobbypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    QED used to do a switch box to allow exactly this, they still do a wallmount version,
    check www.qed.co.uk.
     
  4. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the link and it is exactly what I'm after (the MA19) :clap: , but it says that they are discontinuing the stock :thumbsdow (http://www.qed.co.uk/acc/acc.html) and there are no prices :rolleyes: .

    Does anyone know where I can get the same type of product?

    Cheers,

    Mark.
     
  5. NinjaKi11a

    NinjaKi11a
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Electrical suppliers like CPC and Maplin usually stock them, although they're technically not of audiophile quality I don't think it would make a difference as you're adding a switch into the line anyway.
     
  7. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Eviljohn2, I agree that it is not a recommended set-up, but it is only going to be a temporary solution for a few months until I can purchase the Cantons :) .

    The ebay link looks just the job, thanks. Will keep my eye on it over the next few days.

    I can not seem to find too many online suppliers though.

    Cheers,

    Mark.
     
  8. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
  9. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Looks just the ticket, cheers eviljohn2.
     

Share This Page

Loading...