Speaker ballast advice

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by kempez, Feb 11, 2009.

1. kempez

kempez

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +281
    Hi guys

I have some MS 906i's now and I'm currently running them in...which is fun!

I have heard that it is advisable to add ballast to these to tighten up the bass.

Is this right? I've read around as much as I can and it seems like the right thing to do.

I've seen kiln dried sand is the cheapest way of doing it, but how do I go about that? Just grab some and pour half of it in each speaker??

Basically I'm a newbie to ballast so advice from experts is much appreciated :thumbsup:

Thanks in advance

2. BlueWizard

BlueWizard
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,209
    Unless the speaker has a separate chamber specifically for 'ballast', I say, DON'T DO IT.

As others have pointed out in similar discussion, all adding ballast does, in this case, is reduce the internal volume and thereby raise the resonance frequency of the box. So, yes, the bass sounds different, but not necessarily better. In fact, probably weaker. Though some people confuse 'weaker' for clearer and more defined, or whatever nonsense.

Also, if by some chance you throw a wild drunken party, and some idiot knocks over one of your speakers, the sand is going to get into the drivers and raise all kinds of he||.

So, again, unless your floorstanding speakers are designed for ballast, or in the case of bookshelf speakers, unless your stands are specifically designed for ballast, forget about it.

Steve/bluewizard

3. kempez

kempez

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +281
    They have a ballast champer with a plug, so they are specifically deisgned for ballast as far as I know.

4. William YZF-R1

William YZF-R1
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +536

Nice :thumbsup: You are right they do.