1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SPDIF cutout every 5 minutes - help!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by crazyal, Jun 5, 2005.

  1. crazyal

    crazyal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cov
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hiya

    Unsure where this thread should live as it involves both Hi-fi & HTPC components...

    Have my HTPC hooked into my Pioneer 1014 amp via SPDIF output from the HTPC onboard soundcard.

    Whilst watching a DVD, the sound will cut for a split second every 5 minutes exactly whilst watching a DVD. Any ideas as to where the problem could lie? I've looked in the Amp manual and can't find anything about timing and can't see any relevant settings in Windows Media 2005 either in the system setup or the sound card options. Standard stereo through the amp is fine if playing Sky television etc., it just seems to be when using SPDIF output. I'm using PowerDVD V5 software that came as part of the WMC capture card.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Deejah

    Deejah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont quote me on this, but it maybe because onboard sound uses ure cpu, which could cause it to cut out now and again, i have the same problem when my cpu is doing several processes at one time, whilst playing audio.
     
  3. crazyal

    crazyal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cov
    Ratings:
    +54
    I have a seperate soundcard available deejah, I'll pop that in and use the SPDIF off that card and report back on how I get on.

    Cheers.
     
  4. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    What refresh rate are you using and what material? PAL or NTSC

    Software decoders will, in order to keep video in sync with audio, occasionally drop a frame. This could be a video frame or over SPdif an audio frame (32ms).

    The only way to combat this is to run the video material in sync with the refresh rate so that you dont get video stutter or audio drops.
     
  5. crazyal

    crazyal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cov
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hi drummerjohn

    I'm using a refresh rate of 60Hz and using both PAL & NTSC DVD's with the same result.

    I'm using Powerstrip to get the 1:1 pixel mapping to match the plasma resolution.

    Picture output is via VGA to the plasma.

    Cheers
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    Try installing Reclock (you'll find lots of refernce on here and at AVS) it should help maintain sync.
     
  7. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    Yeah - Reclock will probably sort it. Frist though try these...

    I would certainly try a sound card first if you have one lying around not doing anything.

    Secondly, in Powerstrip goto Adapter properties and cycle through to your gfx card. Untick the read only box and change the latency from 248 to 128 and see if that helps.
     
  8. crazyal

    crazyal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cov
    Ratings:
    +54
    Thanks Mr.D - seeing as how your fix is quicker than swapping out a PCI sound card I'll try that first and report back later...
     
  9. crazyal

    crazyal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cov
    Ratings:
    +54
    Reclock and another soundcard gave no difference. Still looking for a solution.
     

Share This Page

Loading...