1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

spdif Connect PC to Amp - is this what I need?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by hutters, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. hutters

    hutters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    I'm just finalising what I need to build my HCPC and need some help on the audio connection.

    From what I've read I need a standard RCA cable with an RCA to 3.5mm jack on the PC end.

    I've had a look on Maplin and I think that I need to buy a cable like this one, but I can't find the jack.

    Am I correct with the cable and can anyone point me to a place where I can buy the necessary jack?
     
  2. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Going to be rather a shot in the dark if you don't tell us what sound card you have!
     
  3. hutters

    hutters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Soundblaster Live...does that make a difference as I thought it was just straight passthrough so assumed that any on-board sound with a line out would do the same?
     
  4. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    What are you plugging it into? stereo amp, surround amp? what connections does it have?
     
  5. hutters

    hutters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    I guess that would kind of help too wouldn't it :blush:

    ...it's going into my av amp which has both optical & coaxial digital inputs.
     
  6. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Is the Soundblaster live a 5.1 card?

    I had a cheap soundblaster before but ditched it for a second hand card that had an optical out as it made things easier for me.
     
  7. hutters

    hutters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    yeah, it's 5.1 but the amp will do all the processing, I just want to pass the digital signal to the amp.
     
  8. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Is one of the jacks a digital out? I believe Creative use a jack which doubles as an analogue 3.5mm jack an a mini-toslink
     
  9. Leporello

    Leporello
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The connection you need, if your Soundblaster Live 5.1 has a digital output, which I think it has, is a 3.5mm jack to phono adaptor (99p Maplins) and a digital coaxial connector to go into the amps' digital in (cost about £12-00 upwards, also from Maplins.
     
  10. MPK

    MPK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
  11. hutters

    hutters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Hi MPK, that's not actually the correct cable for what I need - I already have one of those to connect my iPod to my amp.

    As it happens I remembered that I had a digital coax cable so I popped into a music shop at the weekend and picked up a 3.5mm to Phono converter. The sound from the PC was streets ahead of my existing (very old) dvd player so I was very happy :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...