1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SP and DP in Stereo

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by siluro, Mar 12, 2005.

  1. siluro

    siluro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Original "Garden City"
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey Guys

    Im sure this has been asked before, but just wanted some fresh opinions on it. Is there any major difference in stereo between the SP and DP?

    The dilemma im having is that Ive got my name down for one of the DP's but, I have no use for the by-pass or TMREQ (I know its good but I dont have a PC and will be using Auralex) so, it leaves me with the deciding factor of stereo. I know Im never going to get what I want for my SP even though its still sealed from its factory service by Tag and, this upgrade is going to cost ~£8/900 depending if/how much I get for my SP. So is the DP that much better in Stereo?

    Cheers
    Lee
     
  2. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +172
    Well if you ordered AV32R dp is in silver i'll take it off your hands :rotfl:
     
  3. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +27
    I think that the difference between the SP and DP is substantial. I also think that the difference is most noticeable when listening to films. As far as music is concerned I couldn't, hand on heart, tell one from the other.
    Spending the sort of money you are talking about, sight (sound!) unseen is a game for the very wealthy.

    For what it's worth, that same money spent on a speaker or amp upgrade could do wonders.

    Just my opinion.

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  4. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +172
    Well if you ordered AV32R dp is in silver i'll take it off your hands :rotfl:
     
  5. MartinFXDX

    MartinFXDX
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi siluro,

    And if its black then I'll have it off you! :thumbsup:

    Cheers
     
  6. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +49
    Martin????
    Don't you have black one already?
     
  7. MartinFXDX

    MartinFXDX
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi,

    Maybe a number of Martins!

    No I don't have a DP. I have a 7.1 SP although I do have a DPA as well.

    Besides, can one have too many DPs? :rotfl:
     
  8. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +49
    I must have mixed it up.
    Happens!
     
  9. siluro

    siluro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Original "Garden City"
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok, thanks guys :rotfl: but for the record its black :D Fair play trying AMCross :cool:

    Nice one :thumbsup: movies are not my biggest concern, and I suppose thats where Im now starting to rethink my quick decision to order one as in that department Im quite happy with the SP, it could be better but for how much I watch movies the money factor would be down to stereo, which everyone seems to be saying theres not much in it.

    I see your point in the amp/speaker dept but. thats taken care of by 2510p's :D

    Cheers
    Lee
     
  10. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    No no, keep the DP!

    In my opninion the DP sounds better then the SP in stereo. This because of the improved power supply/earthing and improved software. Oh, and you can also use TMREQ using the built in wizard and a SPL meter. Not as accurate with a pc, but it is a start!
     
  11. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,873
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,034
    I much prefer the DP for stereo over my SP. The reason is TMREQ.

    I started off by using the bypass for stereo, but tried a normal input with TMREQ one day, and haven't looked back.

    If nothing else, borrow a laptop/PC and set up the TMREQ to try it :)
     
  12. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +301

    Lee - if you dont have a PC how are you managing to surf ?
     
  13. ChrisNic

    ChrisNic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Thame
    Ratings:
    +62
    OK, daft question coming up but how would a DP compare to a Rotel RSP-1066 in Stereo?

    I bought my 1066 because I felt it was good in stereo but couldnt resist a DP from HifiBitz.

    Im now wearing my flame retardent suit as I have only ever glimpsed at Tag stuff (nose pressed against shop window) let alone heard any of it so I just hope I have done the right thing buying one completely blind although lets face it a DP isnt going to be hard to shift when it turns up.....
     
  14. siluro

    siluro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Original "Garden City"
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the opinions guys :smashin: Im still thinking it over.....

    Ok. not strictly true, its a Mac but to connect the Tag is a pain in the ass (usb to serial converter plus a emulator and a windows install).
     
  15. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,873
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,034
    Why do you need to connect the Tag?. Its a nice to have feature, not a necessary one. As long as you can run the wizard, you can set up TMREQ :)
     
  16. NeilS

    NeilS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +5
    You don't need to connect the computer to the processor, once you've got the filter parameters from the wizard (Java app) you can input them via the remote, it only takes a few minutes!

    Once done the DP blows the SP away. Without TMREQ it will still sound better than the SP but by a far smaller margin.

    Neil
     
  17. pbains

    pbains
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had been looking for a DPA32r for some time but i really couldnt find one anywhere. Then the AV32r turned up on hifibitz.So i purchased a DP for the same reason (mainly for use in 2 channel mode for now). I also spoke to Barry from Tag/IAG and he told me that for 2 channel there would be a slight improvment in sound using a DP but he didnt think it was worth getting a DP over a SP for 2 channel mode considering the extra cost. However i would like the option of also fully utilizing the DP in the future so i purchased a DP and i dont think i will have problems selling it if i am unhappy with its performance.
     

Share This Page

Loading...