Sounds outputs

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by fowlersrs, Jun 9, 2008.

  1. fowlersrs

    fowlersrs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +38
    Im after some advice, ive just tonite managed to connect up my PS3 to my Onkyo 506, outputting some nice sounds on my mordaunt setup..

    what I struggled with was getting the audio to broadcast over all the speakers, now ive got a hdmi lead going to the reciever then to the tv, and a optical connection for the audio...

    only was I could get it working was by selecting out in DTS via the optical cable, there was dolby 5.1 option there but I couldnt get it working, I dont really understand all these different formats tbh, which is best and what should i be aiming to achieve, will dts provide me with 5.1 surround sound?

    :confused:
     
  2. Davieboy00

    Davieboy00
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    In the Short Forest , with the toads , near Camari
    Ratings:
    +173
    DTS is another surround format so will give you 5.1 sound.
    Not sure about setup on PS3 or the Onkyo - sounds like having to match PS3 output with the receiver.
    Sorry can't help any more.
     
  3. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    Moved from Speakers to Blu-ray DVD Players :smashin:

    Have you re-optimised the PS3 ?? .. when switched OFF, hold down the power button for 5 seconds until it beeps .. give this a try as mentioned in the post above, the PS3 needs pairing with the amp :smashin:
     
  4. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,751
    Hi mate. :)
    Check your PS3 optical settings. :smashin:
    Also,won't hurt to post and ask in here aswell.
     
  5. kunal_x

    kunal_x
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Buddy , although optical cable are good for sound you will not get any HD track output from optical port. Rather set the ps3 to output the sound from HDMI.

    Regarding you 5.1 question your games need to have 5.1 audio , if they are select dts and LCM out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice