1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

soundproofing/fireproofing in flat conversion

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by vachalait2000, Jun 27, 2005.

1. vachalait2000

vachalait2000

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

I've taken on the project of a flatconversion and am looking to soundproof and fireproof the seperating floor between the flats, anybody has any experience?
    the flat below haS PERIOD CEILINGS SO AM TRYING TO AVOID THE CEILING FROM BELOW AND TRYING TO ENTER FROM THE FLOOR ABOVE...

many thanks for your reply

cynthia

2. Gary Lightfoot

Gary Lightfoot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,953
    I've no experience but this is what I've picked up:

I think building regs require a second layer of plasterboard to be fitted to the ceiling below (when doing a loft conversion), but fitting wire 'basket netting' from the floor above and filling with rockwool may do a god job with reducing fire breaking through from below (it stops the rockwool falling out if the fire breaks through the ceiling, so keeping some added prevention in place). I believe the thinking behind the extra layer of plasterboard is to help reduce the effect of fire on the wooden joists - plasterboard helps protect by reducing how much the fire will effect the joists, and the basket method is there to keep the rockwool in place. Rockwool and plasterboard are both good fire stallers so that's why the two methods together work well. Both also help reduce sound transmission.