Soundblaster SE and Optical SPDIF

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by RexNoctis, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. RexNoctis

    RexNoctis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    New to the forums, been warned away from here by a friend who keeps spending money! :)

    I'm running a HTPC in the living room with a Sound Blaster Audigy SE conected by an optical cable to my Sony STR DB1070. PC is running Windows Vista 32bit.

    I've set the SPDIF to be the default device within the Windows settings and enabled SPDIF output on FFDShow. When I test the settings with Windows, I can output Dolby Digital and the amp can pick it up no problem but I can't get any two channel source to output over the digital link. Even when I disconnect the cable, the light does not come on.

    Are there any other places I should be looking for settings?

    I previously had the sound card hooked up with 3x 3.5mm to RCA connecters which worked fine for both surround and stereo but the amp cannot do any processing on this which makes music sound a bit weedy as it won't use the sub.

    Any ideas welcomed at this stage! :)
     
  2. RexNoctis

    RexNoctis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I worked it out and will post here in case it will help someone else.

    The setting required is found under Vista playback devices => speakers (Not S/PDIF). There is a checkbox in there to allow digital only!

    Now it's all working nicely, Windows sounds and MP3's are sent as PCM, films with 2 channel sound is upmixed by AC3 filter and films with surround sound are not touched and passed straight to the amp. :clap:
     
  3. nmb

    nmb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    how did you hook up a optical cable to the audigy? I don't see any optical output on the card :(
     
  4. RexNoctis

    RexNoctis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. nmb

    nmb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...