Soundbar with wireless rears & 4k support

Discussion in 'Soundbars, Soundplates & Soundbases' started by Paul97, Jan 5, 2017.

  1. Paul97

    Paul97
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +24
    Hi

    Is there a soundbar with wireless rear speakers that supports 4k? I'm aware that Sony do one but doesn't support 4k, any help is appreciated.

    Cheers

    Paul
     
  2. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    13,312
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Hi Paul, Samsung K950?
     
  3. ellisbailey

    ellisbailey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    Bose Soundtouch 300 with Wireless rears and Subwoofer module?
     
  4. Paul97

    Paul97
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +24
    Thanks guys, will check those out
    Cheers
     
  5. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    13,312
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Yep, I looked hard at this one but was put off by the average reviews when it comes to sound quality, only having one HDMI input and also some vagueness around what sound formats it accepts.
     
  6. britishbulldog

    britishbulldog
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    If possible get as many demos of the various brands as you can because your ears would be the best judge rather than relying on other people's opinions.

    I have the Bose SoundTouch 300 set and I think it's one of the best for sound quality,but I am bound to say that.:)
     
  7. deantown

    deantown
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3,221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    watford
    Ratings:
    +2,354
    I have listened to this one in JL and Curries, I have to say it's probably the best sound I have heard from any sound bar yet. I haven't read many reviews that knock the sound. Mostly people just downing Bose as a brand. I haven't bought a sound bar yet as I'm looking for something that "does it all" music etc., but this Bose is high on my list.
     
  8. ellisbailey

    ellisbailey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    I was torn between the Bose and the Samsung for quote some time and demoed both. I opted for the Bose and have been smiling every day since. Its worked flawlessly from day one.

    I agree that more HDMI inputs would have been nice, but as everything goes to the TV I was happy with just one.
     
  9. ellisbailey

    ellisbailey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47

    I don't think you would be disappointed if you got it. It`s not cheap as to really get the most out of it you need the sub and wireless rears, but once you have it you will smile every time you listen to a song or watch a movie! That bass...... :)
     
  10. Paul97

    Paul97
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +24
    Not to be cheeky but are there any other options that are a little cheaper, I can't afford these 2 options, my budget is around £500-600.
     
  11. ellisbailey

    ellisbailey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    From my research I don't think you will find all those items within that price band. Something may have to give?
     
  12. Paul97

    Paul97
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +24
    Just bought a 65" TV, don't think the better half would be best pleased if spent another £1200 ;)
     
  13. Sloppy Bob

    Sloppy Bob
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,931
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,069
    Does your TV not have enough HDMI inputs to make the 4k on the soundbar just an extra you don't need?
     
  14. Paul97

    Paul97
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +24
    I currently have a Yamaha YSP 2200 soundbar with a Hisense 65M7000 TV. I thought I would need a
    soundbar that would accept 4k signals so it process the 4k signal?
     
  15. Mallett94

    Mallett94
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +328
    Samsung HW-K650 does 4K passthrough however I don't think it supports HDR passthrough
     
  16. Sloppy Bob

    Sloppy Bob
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,931
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,069
    If you plug everything into the TV and then connect soundbar via either the HDMI Arc or optical cable then no video signal is going to the soundbar. The soundbar only need to be 4K if you're going to use it's HDMI inputs.
     
  17. ellisbailey

    ellisbailey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    This.....

    All of my inputs are plugged into the TV, then just once cable from the TV to my soundbar. I can get DTS/and DD5.1 this way which is fine for my needs :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...