Soundbar advice needed

bosley4

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi newbie here, can anybody give some advice on connecting soundbar to sky q box and 4k player. Never had a soundbar before and will be getting a lg sp8ya soundbar next week. i know you connect earc on tv to earc on soundbar via hdmi but looking at pictures of soundbar it only has one other hdmi port, do i connect the 4k player to this and sky box to a port on tv or do i plug both in to tv.
Many thanks.

Using a Soundbar is all about how you connect it to its products and what options you have to use with it.

A simple connection would be to use an Optical (TosLink) cable, this would usually go from the TV to soundbar. Some configuration settings may need to be applied within the TV's own settings

A little more complicated would be via HDMI. With this cable connecting to the two, you need to pay close attention to which HDMI input you use on your TV as you need to look for either eARC HDMI or ARC HDMI. This means that whatever you watch on the TV, it will send that audio sounds like the Optical (TosLink) cable to Soundbar

With these two options, you plug anything like Sky into the TV that should be it. With the HDMI option, like the Optical (TosLink) cable, you may need to change the speaker outputs within the TV menu to Home Cinema or whatever your TV manufacturers require

Now if the soundbar has multiple HDMI input and a single output, then the TV would still connect the say way, but the Sky and any other peripheral would connect into the HDMI input you nominate. From that point onwards, that HDMI number would be the input on the Soundbar Remote

I hope that helps!

Hi

My neighbour asked me why the speach is so low you can't hear it
if you have "bombs and shooting" at a neighbour frindly level?
I said the soundtrack was mixed fore cinema, so...
He has no interest in buying a 5.1 amp and speaker system.
My question is, is there any soundbar with built in decoder on