Sound System

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by jimhutch, Mar 10, 2004.

1. jimhutch

jimhutch

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :hiya: Just waiting for my new plasma to arrive - hopefully tomorrow. It's a Fujitsu VHA30. I now need to spend some more cash on the sound system.

I was looking at the Sony DAVS-C8 mainly 'cos it looks great and I am a complete beginner so the all-in-one thing appeals to me. I reckon I can get this for around 500-600 quid.

Any suggestions for separates for this sort of money or should I go for the Sony. Only thing is it doesn't seem to support component out or progressive scan. Is this bad? I need to connect SKY+ and DVD of course.

Apparently, the fujitsu comes with a built in amp. Is this good or do all plasma have these? Basically, if I go for separates do I need an AMP. :rolleyes:

2. sticker

sticker
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jim,
    To get the best response to your query I would suggets you get this post moved to either the all in one forum or the Amps forum.

In the meantime I would suggest that if the Fujitsu doe shave an internal amp it won't hold a candle to either an "All in one" or a seperates.

Do you need a DVD player in that £500 budget?

Regards
    John

3. jimhutch

jimhutch

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well... it depends. I've already got one but it's not progressive scan and it's not got component out so I think I need a scart switch box?? to connect DVD and SKY+.

I suppose I can get the decent sound system out of my budget and go for the DVD player later.

4. jimhutch

jimhutch

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, how do I move this post or do I just repost to the other forums you mentioned.

5. sticker

sticker
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jim,