1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sound Quality and DIY ??

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by oldguy, Mar 15, 2005.

1. oldguy

oldguy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    help ! Total novice !

I'm currently considering extending my av kit which will invlove extending the speaker cabling on my Sony DVD / 5.1 home theatre player.

The current cable has "VW-1 80 oC 300V 22AWG/2 DAE Young LL98451" on it

???? ( or so it looks like this under a magnifying glass )

For a "oldguy" such as myself does it really affect the sound quality if I use "normal" speaker wire ?

I want something as small as the original ( each cable is about 1mm diameter ), I've seen stuff in richer sounds but it's huge compared to the original

Any help appreciated !

2. Peridot

Peridot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +285
    Oldguy,

Welcome to the forums :thumbsup:.

DIY is very popular around here and hence many forms of speaker cable may be considered 'normal', but I know what you mean.

I'm assuming that you have an 'all in one' DVD/Amplifier/Speakers system? If you use a cable similar to that supplied you will be fine. Maplins have a number of options.

Will you have any special requirements for terminating the cables at either the amplifier or speaker end?

3. oldguy

oldguy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Dermot,

yes it's an all-in-one

I actually want to route the cables beneath the floor ( Hardwood ) and was going to look for some kind of "socket" to mount flush with the floor.

Have seen the banana plugs and wallplates which look a bit bulky to be coming out of the floor.

Is there anything else I could use ?