1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sound proofing

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by Dave Bartram, Nov 23, 2001.

1. Dave Bartram

Dave Bartram

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +60
    Moving out of parents place soon (about time) into an as yet undetermined flat. My question is my current neighbours don't really like my home cinema (not that I play it that loud or late), It'll probably be worse in a flat, what can I do to stop the sound penetrating through what could be walls, floor, ceiling or maybe all three......?

Any advice would be most appreciated.

Thanks

Dave

2. annefromuk

annefromuk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had no past experience on sound proofing, but I wll have a go at answering your question :D

Over the last few days I have learnt a bit on the subject, as I am going to get a room built on the side of my parents house (going to live at home for a bit longer so I can afford all the equipment :) )

One thing I have found is a product called RockPlusHD Slab which is good for acoustic insulation on party walls and floors.
    If you want to buy it, purchase from Wickes as they offer 20% discount if you buy more than £100 worth.

May I ask what equipment you use in your Home Cinema at the moment?

Anne

3. pointon

pointon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    The only way to totally, 100% soundproof a room is to have a layer of vacuum surrounding it. This isn't a job that can be very likely be done with a trip down to B&Q or Wickes. More like a visit to NASA.

The best way to avoid upsetting neighbours, is not to have any. Other than that, you're going to be building a room within a room to insulate the sound.