1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sound Problems

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Allan238, Sep 30, 2003.

  1. Allan238

    Allan238
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    west country UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am in my Seventies and need some help.
    My kit is DVD Player Pioneer DV-656A.
    Multi-Channel Receiver Pioneer VSX-C300-S
    Video Recorder Toshiba V-711UK
    Echostar AD-3000IP Viaccess Satellite receiver.
    TV is Toshiba 56WH08B. Nothing special, but the best I can do.
    At present I have it set up with Digital Optical between DVD and
    Receiver. Audio In/Out between VCR and Receiver. Audio In/Out between
    Satellite Receiver and Component video between Receiver and Television.
    I got lost after switching on the TV.

    What happens is excellent Dvd video and sound.
    The same with the VCR.
    My problem is with sound from the satellite receiver. At full volume I can barely hear
    anything.
    Forgive my very obvious ignorance, but any help would be much appreciated.
    One frustrated old fellow.
    Allan.
     
  2. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    Very unusual.....does the satellite box have an output level option in it's setup menu?
    Also,if it has more than one form of output,is the analogue output enabled?
    Only other thing I can think of is if the input is incorrectly selected....e.g.Aux 1 connected to the Sat/box and Aux 2 selected....something like that....hope that helps!
     
  3. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    There should be a Volume setting in the Satellite box menu somewhere, is it still quiet when listening via the VCR or TV? (Reliever set to TV input TV switched to satellite channel.
     
  4. Allan238

    Allan238
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    west country UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for replies. Have to wait until the wife goes shopping tomorrow before I experiment,
    Allam
     
  5. Ivor_Monkey

    Ivor_Monkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like the obvious ones first. Is there a volume setting on the satellite remote? You'd be surprised how many people don't know this..
     
  6. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,570
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,462
    To alter the volume settings on the sat box:
    Press the Service Button (near the top of the remote).
    System Setup
    Select 2 Sound Settings
    And the volume control is in there.
     
  7. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The guy has an Echostar AD-3000IP Viaccess Satellite receiver, there's a high probability the menu will be different, I believe the above is for setting the volume on the Sky digi box. ;)
     
  8. Allan238

    Allan238
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    west country UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for all help . Thought I had better let you know that it was my Satellite receiver that was the culprit.
    I changed it for a spare that I had and everything's fine.
    Many thanks.
    Allan.
     

Share This Page

Loading...