1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sound Problems with HCPC

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by dUnKle, Jan 11, 2005.

  1. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,173
    Got an image and its great but having problems with sound

    connected Audigy 2 via the digital out to my Yamaha 2400

    I can get sound from things like windows prompts (the bings etc) and I get windows theme when PC boots but I have problems with sound in movies

    Using TheaterTek no sound is produced at all - its just silent - I have fiddled with the sp/dif out etc and few other things but nothing - no sound - EVER

    using Zoom Player I get 2ch sound - the Amp shows 2 channel only and thats it

    Im sure its something simple but not sure what - can anyone help ?
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I don't know the Audigy 2, but the Audigy one by default decoded AC3 and you'd want to stop that when playing DVDs, check in the Surround Sound mixer that AC3 decoding is disabled.

    What Audio Renderer have you selected in TT?
     
  3. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,173
    ah - you have me there - im kinda learning as I go along and not too sure

    I have the sp/dif thing selected if that helps

    Using PowerDVD I can get 5.1 sound but only DD not DTS
     
  4. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    5.1 from DD but not DTS .. odd.

    Again, my experience is with Audigy 1 so the 2 may be different, but if you have a Creative applet called the Surround Mixer click Settings and if it's the same as mine you'll get a little dialog with "AC-3 Decode" and that's probably checked, un-check it and the AC3 bit-stream should be output to the S/PDIF un-fiddled with.

    Does your receiver indicate what sort of signal it's seeing to give us a clue?
     
  5. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,173
    Everything that I can find that says sp/dif passthrough is checked

    the amp says (when using power dvd) its getting a 5.1 signal

    all the other times it just shows pcm (even though in TT im getting no sound at all )

    something else I have noticed is that I can not change languages
     
  6. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hmmm, I have PowerDVD but the 'full audio' version and I get DD and DTS on my external decoder, however I was sure that the base version of PDVD would pass-through DTS okay.

    What is your audio setting in TT?

    I have a vague memory of seeing another report of digital audio problems with an Audigy 2, for the life of me I cant' recall where or when.
     
  7. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,173

    tried every setting and nothing
     
  8. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Doesn't make sense for ZPlayer to work with DD but not DTS and TT not to work at all. :confused:

    All I can suggest is have a Search round here on "Audigy 2", there have been a few people with problems with these things over the last few months, maybe one of those threads contains something to help.

    Sorry, it's got me stumped for ideas. :rolleyes:
     
  9. cablecar

    cablecar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have been having a very simular problem. I have Zoomplayer and Powerdvd 6 and have recently downloaded TT to try because I was experiencing no sound with both Zoom and Power Dvd.

    I then updated audio drivers (soundmax) and this cured the Zoom and PowerDVD. But I can not get any audio at all with TT. I think PowerDVD gets hold of the audio somewhere and screws things up. I have even tried uninstalling every thing and just use TT but still no joy.

    Have tried asking on the TT forum and email to their Tech support but still no joy.

    My setup Asus P4800VM, 1Gig Ram, Ati 9600, Soundmax sound, Windows XP SP2.


    Cablecar
     
  10. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    I was under the impression that only the higher version (Deluxe?) of Power DVD allowed DTS output (despite being happy to pass through a DD signal). I can't explain your other problem but that may well be the reason for DD only when using Power DVD.

    Is it possible that other software limitations could be the reason for the issues you are having?

    K.
     
  11. monkeynuts

    monkeynuts
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    East Devon
    Ratings:
    +29
    Did anyone have any luck in solving the "no sound from TT but sound from everything else" problem?

    I too have spent all evening changing settings all over the place in various combinations, with no joy!

    Cheers
     
  12. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,566
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,432
    I have just got a coxial digital lead and have connected it up to my Sony BD930 amp (Audidgy 2, digital out)). I can get 2.1 sound but not 5.1

    When it is set at 48Khz there is the 5 speakers shown on my amp but no sound from rears or centre. When I have it set at 96Khz there is only 2 speakers shown on my amp and I still get 2.1 sound (better quality than 48Khz) but still no 5.1

    I have a £50 pro lead (coax) with a mono 3.5mm to phono connector.
    Do I need a stereo connector instead? Or am I missing something else?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    PS.

    I have heard that some cracked copies of windvd do not have dts or dolby playback. I dont know if this is relevant.
     

Share This Page

Loading...