Sound problem on C5

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by RED_Martin, Jul 16, 2003.

  1. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I live in Wakefield, West Yorkshire and I'm having trouble with the sound on Channel 5.

    At any time while Im watching I get noise drop-outs that sound like a cd skipping. I thought it might be the tv (tosh 32zd26) but tried it on my old one and get the same thing except with a fain popping sound.

    C5 have said there are no problems at the transmitter and the aerial guy said that I actually have too much signal, which was a first. :confused:

    I've tried unplugging everything electrical in the house and still get it so basically I have no clue what to do next.

    I might try a digibox in order to both get an even better picture and to hopefully solve the sound issues.

    Any ideas about this at all? Know of anything like it? I'm stumped.
     
  2. Lester

    Lester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hooray !! I'm not going mad. :clap:

    I posted about this in the General Hardware Forum over a week ago and didn't have much of a response.

    My signal's from Emley Moor too....so it looks like it's either them or Five with the problem.

    As I mentioned in the other post, I noticed it on my mum's telly whose signal is from Winter Hill....so that suggests it's a Five problem to me.

    It's so noticable that I'm amazed no one else has posted about it.

    What do we do next ? Is there a number we can call ?
     
  3. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been in contact with Five many times. I shall email them again to let them know it's not just me.

    They thought there might be some kind of external interferance but I'm not so sure.

    I get my signal from Emley Moor too. In fact our aerial is high enough to have a direct line of sight to it. Which is nice.

    I'll let you know as soon as they get back to me.
     
  4. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oops... they did pass on a couple of numbers which I've yet to try.

    Radio Communications Agency (radio interference): 0207 211 0211

    ITC Engineering (commercial television's regulatory body): 01962 848 600
     
  5. Lester

    Lester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +10
    I've just spoken to NTL at Emley Moor and their engineers are gonna investigate.

    By the way, I've been to the top of Emley Moor and it's a great view ! I'll take me screwdriver next time.:p
     
  6. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you getting your signal thru NTL?

    I get mine straight from t' aerial. If we both have different ways off receiving then its one less way for Five to excuse themselves. If that makes sense.
     
  7. Lester

    Lester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +10
    No mine's through the aerial as well. But NTL maintain the transmitter.
     
  8. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a clue in "The Freeview Bible" eBook. I don't recall the exact wording but it does mention that too high a signal level can cause problems and you should fit a variable attenuator to reduce it.

    Fman
     
  9. Lester

    Lester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +10
    What puzzles me is that it only affects Five and has only come on in the last few weeks.

    If Fernsehman is right, is it possible that Five have boosted their power ? Like Red Martin, I too have an excellent signal.... so is Five's now too good ?!?! :zonked:

    Also Fernsehman: I'm not too technical - and a quick search at Maplins for "attenuator" threw up a little widget for £5. Is that about right ?
     
  10. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    A few weeks! If only:(

    I noticed it back in april and first emailed Five on 20 may.

    As for as having too much signal, I had an attenuator fitted by an engineer yesterday. It was plugged into the end of the aerial lead then into the video.

    Which got me thinking.... Does a video player amplify the signal or reduce it? I thought they amplified which makes me think the attenuator should go into the tv instead:confused:

    I'd try it myself tomorrow.

    Incidently, the attenuator has, so far, made no difference at all!!!!
     
  11. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lester:

    Received complaint form from the Radiocommunications Agency. Nice and short BUT if they come out and it seems that its an equipment fault or something else in my house they'll charge £50.

    I'm pretty confident that it's an external problem, especially as you've witnessed it in two places. I'm gonna go ahead and send it off, just as soon as I hear from Five.
     
  12. Lester

    Lester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hey Red....

    So the attenuator's made no difference then ? Might have guessed. :rolleyes:

    Bit of a bugger about the RA call-out charge if we're both just a couple of mentalists ! :suicide:

    Not having much luck are you ? I've seen your other posts about your telly. This AV lark is not only ridiculously expensive, but drives you round the bend too ! :zonked:
     
  13. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I said variable attenuator. Note the word "variable" - it means you can adjust it. You can't just guess the value needed and it's not easy to calculate without knowing the relative signal strengths from the aerial to begin with. So you use one that you can adjust for best results. If it doesn't solve your problem, sell it on.

    There's one mentioned HERE.

    Fman
     
  14. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fman,

    Where would I get a variable attenuator suitable for the job? Had a look on the net and just got loads of incomprehensible stuff with numbers and fings!!!:confused:

    Thanks
     
  15. Lester

    Lester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +10
  16. stranger

    stranger
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,032
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +705
    it is fives transmission problem whatever they tell you, I get it on five through the aerial and through ntl. five are well known for these problems according to a tv engineer I spoke to.
     
  17. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Me to on freeview and analogue from winter hill.
     
  18. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Straight from a Mr. D. Utyoffice at Five.

    Dear Martin

    Thank you for your recent e-mail regarding Five reception and please allow us to apologise for the delay in responding.

    There is an encoder fault at Crawley Court. However, both our Engineering Department and NTL, who maintain the transmitters for Five are looking into the problem.

    Rest assured, every endeavour is being undertaken to solve the problem.

    ...Well, FINALLY:clap:

    Looks like it wasn't Me and Lester imagining things after all.
     
  19. Lester

    Lester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hallelujah !! :eek:

    An end might finally be in sight.

    What I don't understand is how two muppets in Yorkshire can notice such a serious fault, and the service and transmission providers be completely unaware. :suicide:

    Nice one Martin. Thanks for your efforts. :smashin:
     
  20. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Muppets eh?

    I imagine those two grouchy blokes up on the balcony. Were they Statler and Waldorf?

    Anyways, what you were saying about them being unaware got me thinking. How many people out there have the same trouble but just accept it as another of those things? One wonders.

    Watching Five for the next few nights to see if anything happens.

    Later duude...
     
  21. Lester

    Lester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +10
    Well it seems to have been sorted.

    Watched over an hour of programmes over the weekend and no sign of the dreaded glitches. :D

    Thanks for everybody's input. Power to the people !!!!
     
  22. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed the same thing. It's bleedin fixed:clap:

    Trouble is it now sounds odd. I've got so used to the glitches I keep waiting for one to happen :rolleyes: but as yet, nothing.

    Must learn to chill......
     
  23. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you noticed the drop-outs are back again?

    Admittedly not as frequent but very much there.

    Here we go again.:thumbsdow
     
  24. Lester

    Lester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +10
    Ah....we meet again. :D

    Yeah, I noticed them last night. Well Martin, you seem to have the magic touch when it comes to dealing with Five....over to you ! :laugh:
     
  25. RED_Martin

    RED_Martin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    This just in from FIVE, Lester.

    'Thank you for your most recent e-mail regarding Five reception and please allow us to apologise for the delay in responding.

    After conferring with our Engineering Department they have confirmed that NTL this morning replaced a faulty piece of equipment, and have fixed the audio clicking problem that has been plaguing Emley and Winter Hill viewers. This should rectify your problems.'

    I'm not holding my breath!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...