1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sound pressure metre- Where

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by kirk grubb, Jan 17, 2002.

  1. kirk grubb

    kirk grubb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    566
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi

    Could someone please tell me where i can buy an analogue sound pressure metre.:rolleyes:
     
  2. Stewart C

    Stewart C
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Funnily enough I just got mine back from my mates who's had it for 3 months. Since giving it away I bought the Denon AVC 11SR.

    It has been pi$$ing me off ever since 'cos I couldn't get the channels right without it. My set up with my ear was terrible.

    As soon as I got it back, kicked my mates a$$ a little, I set up my 11SR. Talk about a transformation. I couldn't believe it.

    The system only now after weeks of a bad set up is now working a dream. My subwoofer had to be lowered by 8db's!! I though it sounded okay but it didn't really sound amazing as the system was so out of balance it is beyond belief. The other channel were out of synch too.

    As for buying one I can only think of Tandy, although Tandy no longer exists on my High Street or any other as far as I am aware. I think the SPL metres are like gold dust now.

    Go to a professional Home Cinema shop they might be able to procure one for you if you can't find a Tandy/Radioshack.

    Wish I'd got the digital one though. Never happy....Eh Honestly, the analogue works perfectly too.

    Regards
     
  3. GalaxiaN

    GalaxiaN
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got one a few weeks ago from Maplin's. Best place I can think of since Tandy is no more :(

    I purchased a digital meter as this was all they had in stock but the box indicates an analog model is also available.
    The instructions are sparse but I think it's made by a company called AZ.

    Model 8926 (analog) 8928 (digital)

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got mine from........

    HAGARS TEL NO 01795-663336

    ANALOG S.L.M CAT NO 33-2050 £24.99
    DIGITAL S.L.M CAT NO 332055 £39.99
    MODEL RADIOSHACK
     
  5. andyk

    andyk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +167
    I saw the digital one in Maplins but objected to paying £50.

    Radio Shack do both analogue and digital. I ordered mine the other day - it should arrive Monday. It was £30 including p&p (for the analogue - which I read somewhere is better anyway). The number to call is 01543 468855.
     
  6. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes ANDYK i agree £50 is on the high side.....i paid £39.99 for the digital spl, and as for your reading that the analogue is better i have to disagree.

    Digital has LCD display and can be set to the exact db.........far more accurate than the needle on the analogue........let us know how you get on with it....heard lots about the digital spl but not the analogue.....!!



    radioshack digital spl radio analogue spl
     
  7. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8


    Hi Bob

    Surely there must be a place in uk where u can get a digital SPL meter. It'll be quite a mission ordering from the USA. :rolleyes:

    Cya,
    Shaz
     
  8. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes there is....... see my earlier post, all the info is there....!!

    Just put that link there for extra info.....!
     
  9. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    CPC have a selection of both digital and analogue from around £35 upwards.
     
  10. martian1

    martian1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,256
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +324
    How do you use one of these? Use it while running a test signal on amp...
     
  11. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's for setting the channel levels............most set at reference level.... 75db...some at 85db.

    Set levels at listening position.....set each channel to 75db/85db...when it comes to the sub bass it is up to you what you set it at.....i have mine at 75db and i am well happy with that, it all depends on how much bass you like....!!
     
  12. kirk grubb

    kirk grubb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    566
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
     
  13. RC

    RC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know of any places where you can buy these SPL's online in Europe/ UK? Cheers.
     
  14. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    Try the link 4 posts above. :eek: . The sales staff will advise.
     

Share This Page

Loading...