1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sound. No Picture

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by chrislad, Aug 12, 2005.

  1. chrislad

    chrislad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +137
    At the moment, I'm getting sound and no picture for all my video files (inc DVDs, .avi, .mpeg, .mov). I just figured some codecs were clashing or something (I've WMP9, DivX, QT Pro installed).

    Now the same thing has happened to my dad's PC. It happened just after the Windows Updates. Anyone hear anything about this, or fix it? Thanks
     
  2. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,829
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,172
    not heard anything as such... but I'd have my money on MS trying to shaft DivX and doing themselves in the process.. :D
     
  3. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,829
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,172
    hmmm... there's a quite newly released (25th June) critical update for the 'colour management module' whatever the hell that is....

    Its not like MS to stuff things up so badly as you've described, but if you have 3rd party Codec plug-ins for WMP, they might have missed something....:rolleyes:

    I'd try uninstalling KB901214 and see what happens....? ;)
     
  4. oxygenuk

    oxygenuk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
  5. chrislad

    chrislad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +137
    That uninstallation didn't make a difference. May just reinstall the media players and see what happens.
     
  6. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,829
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,172
    I'd try the Codec pack first, as oxygenuk suggested... I use the very same codec pack for a quick-fix solution on mate's PCs....

    just thought I'd try the dodgy update route first, as you had flagged it.. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...