Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sound. No Picture

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by chrislad, Aug 12, 2005.

  1. chrislad

    chrislad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +143
    At the moment, I'm getting sound and no picture for all my video files (inc DVDs, .avi, .mpeg, .mov). I just figured some codecs were clashing or something (I've WMP9, DivX, QT Pro installed).

    Now the same thing has happened to my dad's PC. It happened just after the Windows Updates. Anyone hear anything about this, or fix it? Thanks
     
  2. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,601
    not heard anything as such... but I'd have my money on MS trying to shaft DivX and doing themselves in the process.. :D
     
  3. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,601
    hmmm... there's a quite newly released (25th June) critical update for the 'colour management module' whatever the hell that is....

    Its not like MS to stuff things up so badly as you've described, but if you have 3rd party Codec plug-ins for WMP, they might have missed something....:rolleyes:

    I'd try uninstalling KB901214 and see what happens....? ;)
     
  4. oxygenuk

    oxygenuk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
  5. chrislad

    chrislad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +143
    That uninstallation didn't make a difference. May just reinstall the media players and see what happens.
     
  6. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,601
    I'd try the Codec pack first, as oxygenuk suggested... I use the very same codec pack for a quick-fix solution on mate's PCs....

    just thought I'd try the dodgy update route first, as you had flagged it.. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice