1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sound meter

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by jang150, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. jang150

    jang150
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have purchased a sound pressure meter from cpc components having realised that it is set only to A weighting with no option to change it to C. Can i still balance my speaker channels or is it not possible with A weighting?

    Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. Ettepet

    Ettepet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    738
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    There is a table, but I'm not sure if your current range will cover all frequencies. I'm in a hurry at the moment... ;)
     
  3. Nimby

    Nimby
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    9,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Danish Bacon Factory
    Ratings:
    +669
  4. Ettepet

    Ettepet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    738
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    You see it is possible, but you need some hefty adjustments in the lower frequency regions. (48dB at 16Hz; 36dB at 32Hz)
     
  5. jang150

    jang150
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks alot for the help but have just realised that my yamaha dsp e800 processor hasn't got a subwoofer test tone. I think i will have to buy a calibration disc unless you guys can suggest a way round this?
     
  6. Ettepet

    Ettepet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    738
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    If you have a cd burner you can make your own one, easily. You could also choose to play test-tones on your PC, if you've got a good-quality connection through your soundcard or other.

    If you plan to burn your own cd there are plenty of tips or links on this forum (use search). ;)
     
  7. Maninblack

    Maninblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    I think I have the same item, is it useless!! Id rather know before I jump all over it!
     
  8. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Try Here.....

    Main Page
    Test Tones Download

    Lot's of MP3 tones to download, and then burn to CD. I downloaded all of 'em and burnt 'em over two CDR's.

    I've also got a copy of AVIA as well, which is good for setting up you AV system.

    I hope this helps ??

    Cheers

    Cosmic023
     
  9. jang150

    jang150
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes very helpful. All i need now is Avia to balance all my channnels.
     
  10. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Try the Powerbuy Forums for the Avia Disc

    It's where i got my copy, a disc that will keep you occupied for hours and tweak your AV kit to the max.
     
  11. mudan

    mudan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +2
    jang150, use the test tones that come with the THX Optimiser - often found on quite a few discs e.g. Star Wars.

    I use the D.V.E (Digital Video Essentials) DVD.
     
  12. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87

Share This Page

Loading...