1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sound drops out momentarily every 5 - 30 mins

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by justinh, Mar 23, 2004.

  1. justinh

    justinh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Slough
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have an Aopen XC Cube PC (http://www.silentpcreview.com/article140-page1.html) running Windows XP SP1.

    It has on-board Realtek 650 sound chip using the latest A3.56 drivers

    I use WinDVD5 and I output SP-DIF digital via an co-ax/RCA socket. I successfully get DD and DTS without problem, except that the sound drops out on occasions for 1 to 2 seconds then comes back again. This is not on the DVD as it applies to all DVD's as far as I can see.

    This occurs every 5 to 30 mins approx.

    I can put in a Creative SB card which will probably fix the problem but this uses the one and only PCI card slot up so I would rather not.

    PC has a SATA Samsung hard disk and Samsung DVD drive and a Sapphire 9600SE video card.

    Anyone any ideas ?

    Thanks in advance.

    Justin
     
  2. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Have you done a virus check?
     
  3. justinh

    justinh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Slough
    Ratings:
    +6
    No, however I have rebuilt it completely and still have same problem so unlikely to have virus.

    However will check tonight.
     
  4. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    have you got the Remote Procedure Call Patch?
     
  5. justinh

    justinh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Slough
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi CrispyXUK,

    No - just XP SP1

    Nervous about chucking all the post SP1 hotfixs on!

    Which is RPC patch and why do you think that it is relevant to my problem?
    Regards

    Justin
     

Share This Page

Loading...