Sound but no picture through HDD recorder

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by aka_Gilo, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. aka_Gilo

    aka_Gilo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just returned from holiday and checked the hard drive on my Toshiba RD-XS34 to see if it recorded a programme from Sky 1 that I set before I went.

    Unfortunately I have the audio but a black screen! Sometimes (maybe 20% of the time) when I turn the Toshiba on and select AV2 on the tv I get the sound and no picture - turning the Toshiba off and then on again always sorts it. Exactly the same problem used to occur with my Lite-On LV 5045 recorder which makes me think the problem is elsewhere, not with the recorder.

    As I have only two scarts on my tv but cable box (Telewest Pace box), dvd recorder, and video connected I run them through a switcher box. The Toshiba is connected to the tv and the switcher - usually the input through the switcher is from the cable box, but I switch it to the video when recording vhs to hdd / dvd.

    Any ideas as to why I'm getting this problem? Is the way I have set it up an issue?

    Thanks
     
  2. alan8477

    alan8477
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pershore
    Ratings:
    +5
    I used to experience this with my XS34. Some excellent fellow on this forum pointed out that when you press the TV button on the Sky remote it switches RGB output to Video, hence sound but no picture when you record. So don't use the Sky remote to switch off your TV/plasma if you have set up to record.
     
  3. aka_Gilo

    aka_Gilo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks - but I don't think that is the issue here as I tend to leave the cable box on, set to the correct channel, when I have set the recorder, just to be safe! As mentioned the sound / no picture problem doesn't only occur when recording, but sometimes when turning the recorder on. Turing it off and on again resolves it every time. So only a (major) problem when recording using the timer.
     
  4. aka_Gilo

    aka_Gilo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2
  5. alan8477

    alan8477
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pershore
    Ratings:
    +5
    What do you use to turn your TV off?
     
  6. MattDX

    MattDX
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +255
    I had this on my Panny EH50 - turned out to be a loose scart cable.
     
  7. aka_Gilo

    aka_Gilo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2
    I always use the relevant remote, i.e the tv remote for the tv.

    I've checked the scarts and they all appear to be in securely.
     
  8. aka_Gilo

    aka_Gilo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2
    This is now getting even more irritating!

    I recorded a film off the Sci Fi channel last night, set the timer to record to HDD and turned the RD-XS34 off, left the cable box on switched to the correct channel and went to bed.

    Checked the HDD this morning and the film seemed to have been recorded ok. I fast forwarded through it to check and discovered that after 30 or so minutes of perfect recording the picture dissapeared and just the sound remained!! The remaining 90-odd minutes were all sound but no picture.

    I can only assume that during recording the signal received by the recorder changed somehow. I don't think the problem is with the Toshiba, so I'm guessing it is one of the scart cables or the switcher box I run them through (that I need as I have a vcr hooked up while I copy a number of my old tapes onto dvd).

    Can anyone give me some advice as to how to work out where the problem is and how to reolve it? :lease:
     
  9. alan8477

    alan8477
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pershore
    Ratings:
    +5
    Does anyone else in your household have access to the Sky remote?
     
  10. aka_Gilo

    aka_Gilo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2
    No, at least not at night, which is when the latest recording problem hapened.
     
  11. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +550
    progress of ilumination i think.

    try by-passing the switcher box.

    check 100% leads are ok and no breaks
     

Share This Page

Loading...