1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sound - and how to get it

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by theredstar, Jan 24, 2005.

1. theredstar

theredstar
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firstly, apologies for my complete ineptitude with this subject - I have no knowledge of 5.1 sound, amps or receivers.

Right, I've decided to get a plasma and am considering the NEC or a Panny. Like a few others I'm awaiting Hornydragon's report with interest. I've sorted out how to connect all my stuff to the screens for picture, but the whole audio thing is throwing me.

I need to connect a Panny DMR E55, a Humax Freeview box, an X-Box (chipped), Gamecube (US - so no Scart), and a PS2. Oh, and another DVD/DivX player :D

The plan so far. Connect the Freeview to the Panny via scart, and the Panny to the screen by component. If I choose the NEC then that's got a second component input, so either the 'Cube or the box go via that. All the other stuff goes via a scart switch box, like the Joytech or Quinro one. If I choose the Panny I'll have to put more stuff through scart.

I've ruled out Panny/NEC speakers (after reading comments by MAW that they look like elephant ears). After reading the beginners thread, I think I need some sort of receiver/amp (what's the difference?); for example the Pioneer C402 that's recommended in that thread, and then seperate speakers like the Cantons.

So:

1. Will the Pioneer take all the audio inputs I need? Most of the stuff I'm connecting has digital audio out, and supports 5.1.

2. If not, can anyone recommend a decent (and cheapish- no £1000 kit please) receiver/amp that will do a job?

3. Do amps/receivers auto switch or do I manually select the input.? How does it all work?

4. If I'm running my Humax through the Scart to the Panny DMRe55, will the audio lead from the Panny carry through the Humax signal?