Sorry peeps, another question, this time it's spl levels

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by mr_fantazmo, Jun 27, 2002.

1. mr_fantazmo

mr_fantazmo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone, just a quick question, and forgive me for being stoopid!! I have just ordered an spl meter and the avia home theatre test disc, however i was just wondering, when i'm calibrating my marantz 4200 amp, do i set the main volume to 0 db and then adjust each speaker accordingly so it reads 75 db on the spl meter? I've never done anything like this before so i could do with a quick guide if anyone has the time of day to help. Thanks again for any help, hopefully i will be able to offer advice to other people soon instead of recieving it all the time!! Cheers!!

2. Electric Mayhem

Electric Mayhem
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,030
    Hi

Setting the volume level at 0db and then balancing the levels to 75db (in the case of the AVIA disc set to 85db) means that when you watch a film at 0db you will watching it at reference level (loud!).

You can set the master volume to less and then balance the levels if you wish.

cheers

3. Mr.D

Mr.D

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,210
    I leave the mains alone and adjust the volume to get one to 75db. Then I'll balance them so they are both 75db. Then balance all the others leaving the master volume alone.

Someone will now tell me this is incorrect....

4. Sly

Sly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +51
    hey mr_fantazmo,where did you get your stuff from?
    i am looking to get a spl meter myself.
    also if you think it helps post back and let me know;)
    as i am curious.
    ta.

5. 7 of 9

7 of 9

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0